New President in Riviera Maya Hotel Association

1024 576
New President in Riviera Maya Hotel Association
Wed October 10, 2018

Conrad Bergwerf, General Director of Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla & La Esmeralda was elected to replace Jean Agarrista, who did an excellent job leading the group for 14 years


The Hotel Association of the Riviera Maya, A.C. (AHRM) chose Conrad Bergwerf as the new president of this organization for the period 2018-2020, replacing Jean Agarrista Marfín, who did an excellent job for more than 14 years at the head of the maximum hotel group in the Mexican Caribbean.

In the framework of the Ordinary General Assembly, held at the hotel The Royal Playa del Carmen, AHRM partners appointed Conrad Bergwerf, General Director of Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla & La Esmeralda as the new leader of the association that brings together 135 hotels, with 34,220 rooms, in addition to honorary partners and allied suppliers from Puerto Morelos to Tulum and Punta Allen.

With more than 20 years of experience in the hotel industry Conrad Bergwerf is originally from the Netherlands and started his professional career in the hotel industry in Gran Canaria, Spain, in 1992. He joined the Meliá hotel chain since 1997 in a project in Costa Rica, to then continue his work in Paradisus Punta Cana, Dominican Republic until 2002 and from there to take charge of hotel chain properties in places like Vietnam, Indonesia, Costa Rica, Los Cabos and Cancun. In 2017 he was appointed General Director of Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla & La Esmeralda. He is Baili Founder (President) of La Chaîne des Rôtisseurs Playa del Carmen, Quintana Roo, Mexico.

Conrad Bergwerf took office as president of the Board of Directors from 1 October last. In the six months prior to their protest and together with their Board of Directors, they gradually carried out the delivery-reception process, as well as the creation of working groups and committees to ensure compliance with the mission and vision of the AHRM:

"The mission of the Hotel Association of the Riviera Maya is to promote, promote and organize the development of the tourism industry in general and in particular the hotel industry in all its manifestations; represent the interests of our associates before the different government agencies, as well as participate directly and indirectly with the Tourist Promotion Council of Quintana Roo in promotion campaigns; provide training and updated information; support and contribute to improve the quality of life and environment of our community "

"The Vision of AHRM is to position and conserve the Riviera Maya as an important tourist destination worldwide. Achieve a harmonious and sustainable development of both the community and the tourism infrastructure, preserving our cultural and natural attractions to ensure the viability of a responsible tourism industry "

The new Board of Directors elected within the framework of the meeting is made up of General Managers as well as owners of hotel chains and resorts and international associations such as Ramón Roselló, President of Inverotel, an association that brings together Mexican and foreign hotel investors in the area from the Caribbean. The treasurer is Néstor Ospina (The Reef Resorts). It has five vice-presidencies in charge of Carlos Constandse (Xcaret Experiences and Destination Group), Dolores López Lira (Royal Dorado Hotels), Andrea Lotito (Posada Latin Quarter), Ramón Rosselló (HM Playa del Carmen) and José María Figuereo (Barceló Group). , who will have specific functions to promote aspects such as security / sustainability, promotion, training and inclusion.

French hotelier Jean Agarrista, who successfully managed the Riviera Maya Hotel Association since 2004 to position it as one of the most important hotels in Mexico and the Caribbean, will continue to participate actively in the activities of the Board of Directors, now in his new assignment as Vocal.


Did you like the news? Share it!

to continue reading ...