The number of US states authorized to enter Costa Rica rises to 20

1024 576
The number of US states authorized to enter Costa Rica rises to 20
Fri September 11, 2020

As of September 15, residents of Washington, Oregon, Wyoming, Arizona, New Mexico, Michigan and Rhode Island will be allowed to travel to the Central American country

Eight more US states, for a total of 20, are added to the list of territories whose residents can enter Costa Rica.
The states of Washington, Oregon, Wyoming, Arizona, New Mexico, Michigan and Rhode Island will be able to visit our country as of September 15. From October 1, if the epidemiological scenario allows it, California residents will also be able to do so.
In this way, the list of US states authorized to visit Costa Rica increases to 20, since since September 1, residents of New York, New Jersey, New Hampshire, Vermont, Maine, Connecticut, Maryland, Virginia and the District of Columbia, and Massachusetts, Pennsylvania and Colorado had previously been announced.
“It is imperative that health protocols are respected at home, in companies, in our daily actions. The sustainability of employment brought about by the reactivation of tourism depends on it. If I take care of myself at work, but under guard in my private life, we will regress, the measures of hand washing, use of a mask and physical distancing must be permanent because we are facing a pandemic, "said Gustavo J. Segura Sancho, Rector of Tourism, when announcing the addition of new states.
Tourism generated 219 thousand direct jobs and 400 thousand indirect jobs before the pandemic.
“Tourism employment represents the human face of the economic reactivation process that we are pursuing in Costa Rica, even more so because all its activities and services are linked together as a conglomerate. Reactivating jobs is possibly one of the most important factors that make citizen awareness about the prevention of COVID contagion necessary ", added Segura in relation to the importance of a gradual and sustained recovery in which it must defend employment precisely with these new announcements .
The opening of these new flights from the aforementioned states, especially California, will allow expanding the possibilities of tourist employment in Guanacaste, as well as other nearby regions that will benefit. The impact will also be positive for the entire country because it allows the return of airlines from the United States (the main tourist source market) at both airports.
Entry requirements
Residents of the qualified states of the United States of America who wish to visit Costa Rica must meet four requirements:

-Complete the digital form called HEALTH PASS and available at
Perform the PCR-RT test for COVID-19 and obtain a negative result; the sample for the test must be taken a maximum of 72 hours before the flight to Costa Rica.
-A mandatory travel insurance that covers accommodation in case of quarantine and medical expenses due to COVID-19 disease. Said insurance can be international or purchased from Costa Rican insurers.
Show through your driver's license or State ID that you live in one of the authorized states.

All requirements must be uploaded in the HEALTH PASS digital form.
Tourists from authorized states may arrive in the country, even if they stop at an unauthorized destination, as long as they do not leave the airport and the flight begins in the state of residence. For example, a New Jersey resident who boards the plane at the Newark airport and makes a layover of less than 18 hours in Panama will be able to enter the country.



Did you like the news? Share it!

to continue reading ...