Chile declares five new territories as "Zones of Tourist Interest"

1024 576
Chile declares five new territories as "Zones of Tourist Interest"
Source: Subsecretaría de Turismo
June 22, 2022

Towns in the regions of Atacama, Valparaíso, Maule, Ñuble, Los Ríos and Los Lagos now have the category that allows them to promote the development of tourism activity through prioritization in investment and execution of projects

The Official Gazette published the decrees that declare new Zones of Tourist Interest to Bahía Inglesa – Caldera, in the Atacama region; Olmué, in the Valparaíso region; to Chanco – Pelluhue, in the Maule region; to San Fabián, in the Ñuble region; and Río Bueno – Puyehue, in the regions of Los Ríos and Los Lagos, making official the decision adopted by the Committee of Ministers of Tourism in January of this year.

“The five areas that received this category have enormous tourism potential. The ZOITs are a valuable tool that will allow the municipalities involved to access special investment programs, providing the possibility of generating projects with high social and economic impact. We are working to reactivate this industry throughout the country and the new Areas of Interest will be a fundamental piece in this process”, assures the Undersecretary of Tourism, Verónica Kunze.

With this declaration there are already 40 Tourist Interest Zones in the country, localities that now have an instrument that establishes public-private governance to coordinate and plan tourist development in the territories in a participatory manner, defines a portfolio of projects according to the needs of localities to improve tourism planning and allows municipalities that have ZOITs to participate in contests for Urban Improvement Programs.

In this regard, the National Director(s) of Sernatur, Beatriz Román, assured that “we are very pleased with the declaration of these new ZOITs. It is undoubtedly the result of joint work between the different actors such as municipalities, local actors, guilds and associations with a clear objective: to develop the tourist activity of the territories. This new tool will allow them to attract investment, reactivate destinations, but also bet on challenges in terms of sustainability, product development, digital transformation and others”.

Bahía Inglesa-Caldera, Atacama Region
The declared area is inserted in the destination Caldera-Pan de Azúcar National Park, which limits to the north with the commune of Chañaral and to the south with Copiapó, 75 km from the regional capital and 23 km from from the Atacama Desert Airport
In the area is the coastal route with attractions such as Bahía Inglesa, the former Caldera Customs, the San Vicente de Paul Church, the First Lay Cemetery of Chile, the paleontological site "Los Dedos", among other sites. relevant, which are complemented by the 189 tourism services that to date are registered and identified in the national registry of tourism service providers.

Olmué, Valparaíso Region
The delimitation of the polygon of this ZOIT considers four core zones: the center of Olmué, the Olympic Village, La Campana National Park and the Quebrada Alvarado. These sectors concentrate tourist accommodation and gastronomy services, as well as areas for the development of outdoor activities.
La Campana National Park receives annual visits that fluctuate between 50 and 60 thousand tourists and the area of ​​Quebrada Alvarado concentrates a tourist offer of four establishments, in addition to access to the Niño Dios de las Palmas and the Capilla de la Dormida Historical Monument.

Chanco-Pelluhue, Maule Region
The territory of this new ZOIT -a polygon of 150 km2- is concentrated in one of the potential tourist destinations of the Maule Region, Chanco-Pelluhue, a marine coastal area.
The main tourist potential of the area is around adventure tourism activities such as surfing, gastronomy associated with its coves (Loanco and Curanipe), the rescue of rural traditions and identity, and the promotion of agricultural activities. This destination also has various protected areas in the category of National Reserves.

San Fabián, Ñuble Region
The polygon that includes this new ZOIT has a total area of ​​54.7 km2 and includes the town of San Fabián de Alico and a series of tourist attractions, including the Los Hualos trail, the La Balsa sector, in the Ñuble river; the Estero de Piedras and the Plaza de Armas de San Fabián, the main public space of the commune in which different traditional, cultural and productive manifestations take place. The Mercado Campesino is located in the square, where agro-artisanal products are sold.
Meanwhile, the sector made up of Laguna del Valiente is one of the main attractions of the commune, given its scenic beauty and the presence of centuries-old native forest, attributes that motivate the arrival of tourists.

Río Bueno-Puyehue, Los Ríos and Los Lagos regions
This is the first bi-regional ZOIT in Chile. The territories of the districts of Río Bueno and Puyehue correspond to sectors in the foothills of the Andes, with relevant lacustrine and river basins, such as the Puyehue and Rupanco lakes and the Bueno River.
These natural resources generate the backbone of this declaration, together with the proximity of the Puyehue National Park, sectors of scenic beauty such as Puerto Chalupa, El Encanto sector, Gol Gol River, the CH 215 International Route that connects with the Cardenal Samoré International Pass, Entrelagos beach, Mantilhue, Pilmaiquén river and the Boquial sector.


Did you like the news? Share it!

to continue reading ...