Chile updates entry requirements for foreign travelers

1024 576
Chile updates entry requirements for foreign travelers
Source: Twitter @mop_chile
July 13, 2022

Chile’s international border is open to vaccinated non-resident foreign citizens who comply with a number of requirements under the Chilean Government’s current COVID-19 management plan

The Ministry of Health in Chile has updated the Protected Borders Plan to protect both, non-resident foreigners, and Chilean residents. Under this plan, there are three levels of alert for the international border. Currently, Chile is at Alert Level 1, which does not enforce travel restrictions. However, there are some measures to be considered.

Under Alert Level 1, visitors to Chile must meet the following requirements:

  • Fill in the “Travel Affidavit” form online up to 48 hours before boarding, providing contact information and health and travel records. This form will display a QR code as a means of verification. It is available at www.c19.cl.
  • Diagnostic tests will be carried out randomly at the entry point to Chile. Confirmed cases shall be isolated according to the general health regulations.
  • Passengers that are not resident in Chile are recommended to attain travel insurance, but is no longer mandatory. 

Although vaccine standardization is voluntary, it is necessary in order to gain access to the Mobility Pass. The pass is always required to go into hotels, restaurants, theaters, and to get on buses, among other tourism services. Once the request has been submitted, it will be approved or rejected within a maximum period of 48 business hours. If no response is received within that period, a Temporary Mobility Pass will be issued for 96 hours.

If a tourist enters the country with a Temporary Mobility Pass and at the end of 96 hours the homologation process is rejected, they will have the opportunity to take a PCR test that may be used as a replacement for a Mobility Pass.

Visitors can enter Chile through dedicated airports in Santiago, Iquique, Antofagasta, and Punta Arenas. Visitors may also enter through land borders including Paso Rio Don Guillermo, Paso Futaleufú, Paso Huemules, Paso Jeinimeni, Paso Monte Aymond, and Paso Los Libertadores.

For more information on the update of the Protected Borders Plan and the entry requirements for foreigners arriving in Chile, please visit https://www.chile.travel/en/traveltochileplan/.


Did you like the news? Share it!

to continue reading ...